CEE Animation Workshop Announces Its Selection

Organisers of the year-long training programme have again received a record number of applications, as it continues to grow year by year. Applications came from 19 countries as the call was open to all EU countries for the first time. Thirty-two participants from 12 countries will attend the 2022 edition, split between 12 teams with an animated project and four career-oriented participants.

“The traditional pool of countries from the CEE region will be even more diverse this year with the addition of participants from Sweden, France and Poland. All indications show that we have another very strong year ahead with exciting projects to be mentored, developed and packaged to hit the funding market by November 2022,” explains Juraj Krasnohorsky, Head of Studies.

The selection is balanced, the proportion of female participants reaching almost a half, and diverse in terms of the animation project format with three feature films, three TV series, one TV special and five short films. The topics addressed are also varied, ranging from children’s to adult issues.

Twelve animated projects and four participants without a project will follow three online and one residential module throughout the year. The closest collaborators for them will be group leaders and script advisors. Through expert lectures, moderated discussions, group work and individual consultations, they will provide their own feedback and offer their expertise on participants’ projects, drawing from rich professional experience as leading European producers. Script advisors will work with the project teams individually and in group sessions, helping them formulate the voice of their story in the best possible way in terms of the dramatic structure, genre, and story arc. The group leaders are Jean-François Le Corre (Vivement Lundi !, FR), and Ole Wendorff-Østergaard (Danish Film Institute, DK), and script advisors are Rita Domonyi (HU) and Phil Parker (UK).

In addition to following the complete Workshop program, four career-oriented participants will also receive personalised mentoring on their career and company strategy development. The programme tailored to the needs of animation creatives will see the selected projects from their early stages to the final developed production package, ready to access the market.

Selected animated projects

d. Veljko Popović
p. Milivoj Popović, Prime render d.o.o., Croatia
Feature film

New Rabbitland
d. Ana Nedeljković, Nikola Majdak Jr.
p. Jelena Mitrović, Film House Bas Celik, Serbia
Feature film

scriptwriter: Filip Diviak
p. Kristina Lenka Ruzickova, ARCHA production s.r.o., Slovakia
Feature film

scriptwriter: Jaroslav Klimeš
p. Jindřich Trčka, COFILM, Czech Republic
TV series

p. and scriptwriter: Caroline Drab, BCD Film AB, Sweden
TV series

The Bones from NAAVA
d. and scriptwriter: Tereza Došková
art d. Mikuláš Podprocký
p. Tomáš Šimon, Czech Republic
TV series

Pets and Others
d. and scriptwriter: Justyna Osiecka
p. Paulina Zacharek, Momakin Sp. z o.o., Poland
TV Special

d. and scriptwriter: Marek Naprstek
p. Zuzana Kučerová, Frame Films, Czech Republic
Short film

d. Réka Anna Szakály
p. Daniel Deak, Daazo Film and Media, Hungary
Short film

Hide and Seek
d. Ana Aleksovska
scriptwriter: Vladimir Dimoski, Serbia, North Macedonia
p. Ivan Popovic, Sineast, North Macedonia
Short film

No One Ever Looked at Elephants as You Do
d. and scriptwriter: Sandra Jovanovska, North Macedonia
p. Miha Černec, Staragara, Slovenia
Short film

The Splinter
d. Bara Halirova, Czech Republic
scriptwriter: Vykintas Labaunauskas, Lithuania
p. Karolina Davidova 13ka, Czech Republic
Short film

Career oriented participants

Edwina Liard, producer
Ikki Films, France

Miloš Ljubomirović, producer
Servia Film, Serbia

Justė Michailinaitė, producer
Broom Films, Lithuania

Miljan Vučelić, producer
DOK Produkcija, Montenegro

CEE Animation Workshop is organised with the support of Creative Europe – MEDIA Programme of the European Union.


CEE Animation is supported by the Creative Europe – MEDIA Programme of the European Union and co-funded by state funds and foundations and professional organisations from the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia.

More info