Out of competition




The Girl Who Was Not Afraid Of Bears

A feminist Western about a fearless girl who must face mysterious monsters she didn’t expect.

Behind the hills and valleys, stands a hut where a father lives with his three daughters. The eldest two venture into the world despite their father`s warnings of a black beast that stalks the forest. The two sisters return scared, for there really is something haunting the woods. The youngest is fearless and an epic battle unfolds with the beast. After defeating it, she discovers that the beast was not what she expected. She fearlessly rides into the world, into dangerous perils where she discovers herself.

Director’s statement
The Girl Who Was Not Afraid of Bears is a 15-minute short film based on an old Albanian folk tale about a young girl who, despite her father’s wishes, decides to leave her home and travel the world. The film`s distinct feminist theme is intertwined with an archaic folk tale. The counterpoint to this is the use of the film genre typical of the male world; the Western, which further bridges the gap between the exclusion of female protagonists in certain film genres. In animation at the moment, to a large extent, in response to these themes, we get either stories about women as victims of the system or affirmative tales about heroines. The relevance and progressiveness of the theme of our film lies precisely in its holistic presentation of the contradictions, paradoxes, and problems of gender, which reflect real life and the state of society. The dynamic directing using fast cuts, extreme perspectives and dramatic music based on modern, stylized illustration will appeal to teenagers and festival audiences.

Country of production

Slovenia, Croatia

Target audience


Animation Technique

2D computer animation with frame by frame

Production company


CEE Animation is supported by the Creative Europe – MEDIA Programme of the European Union and co-funded by state funds and foundations and professional organisations from the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia.

More info