Miljenka Čogelja

Miljenka Čogelja has been working as a producer since 2009 and in 2020, she joined Pipser production company, which she co-founded with documentary film director Đuro Gavran in 2012. She's the producer of Juraj Lerotic's first feature film Safe Place premiered at the 75th Locarno Film Festival 2022, in the competition program Concorso Cineasti Del Presente. The film was also Croatia's candidate for the Academy Awards. Since its world premiere, the film has been screened in over 37 world festivals, winning a total of 23 awards. Miljenka’s first feature docu-fiction, The Diary of Diana B, directed by Dana Budisavljević, produced within Hulahop production, co-produced by December / SLO and This and That / RS won all major awards at the Pula Film Festival 2019, including the Grand Golden Arena for Best Film, Golden Arena for Best Director, Best Editing, Best Music, Golden Gate of Pula Audience Award, and recognition for Best Croatian Feature Film. Miljenka also produced several award-winning documentary films: When the War Comes by Jan Gebert (2018, co-produced by Pink (CZ), HBO Europe (CZ), Hulahop (CRO)), premiered at Berlinale 2018, I Like That Super Most the Best, directed by Eva Kraljević (produced within Hulahop, premiered at ZagrebDox 2015), News from Laayoune directed by Đuro Gavran (produced within Pipser, premiered at One World 2017) and The Verdict, directed by Đuro Gavran (produced within Pipser, premiered at Rotterdam Film Festival 2013). She is also producer of the documentary series Slumbering concrete, by Saša Ban (1st, 2nd season, within Hulahop) and Good Economy by Đuro Gavran and produced within Pipser. She is a graduate of the EAVE, Ex Oriente, EURODOC Transregional programs and selected participant of the Producers on the Move 2023. In 2020 and 2021, she worked as an artistic advisor for the minority co- productions at the Croatian Audiovisual Centre.


CEE Animation is supported by the Creative Europe – MEDIA Programme of the European Union and co-funded by state funds and foundations and professional organisations from the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia.

More info